Homosexuality and Immorality: The Big Backpeddaling

MeI complained earlier about Hillary’s ambivalent answer to the question about homosexuality being immoral as Gen Peter Pace brought up. Well, today Hillary backtracked her answer and spit up this:

“Well I’ve heard from a number of my friends and I’ve certainly clarified with them any misunderstanding that anyone had, because I disagree with General Pace completely. I do not think homosexuality is immoral. But the point I was trying to make is that this policy of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell is not working.

Well now, isn’t that nice? She goes on and on about it – but so what and who cares?

Barak Obama, after I published yesterday’s piece, I discovered that he sidestepped the entire issue and pulled a “Hillary”:

On Wednesday, Newsday repeatedly asked Obama if same-sex relationships were immoral.

“I think traditionally the Joint Chiefs of Staff chairman has restricted his public comments to military matters,” said Obama, leaving Capitol Hill. “That’s probably a good tradition to follow.”

He turned the conversation to opposition to the military’s “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy: “I think the question here is whether somebody is willing to sacrifice for their country.”

Later, an Obama spokesman said the senator, in fact, disagrees with Pace.

And I had to think to myself: “Okay, if you’re going to say that you won’t support Hillary for President, are you going to change your mind about Obama too?”

Well, now Obama has “come out” clarifiying his position by saying:

“As the New York Times reported today, I do not agree with General Pace that homosexuality is immoral. Attempts to divide people like this have consumed too much of our politics over the past six years.”

I did hear that a number of GLBT groups were quick to run both Clinton and Obama down and wag their fingers in their noses yesterday as well as they should. And I’m happy both of these front-running Democratic candidates have backpeddled on their views towards GLBT.

However, I’m not that happy with either of them that HRC or any GLBT group should even had to have bothered. I can understand the sense of insecurity in supporting social wedge issues such as gay rights, but it’s 2007 – will the National Democratic leadership ever open their arms and receive the GLBT as family once and all? Doubt it anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

