Found on Norm Coleman’s Printer: “I am the ‘Stillwater Infidel!!'”

US Senate Letterhead

Thank you all very much for coming out today. I will read a statement.

First, please let me apologize to my family, friends and staff and fellow Minnesota for the cloud placed over Minnesota. I did nothing wrong on my blog; “Stillwater Infidel”. I did nothing wrong and I regret the decision to plead guilty and the sadness that decision has borught on my wife, my family friends, staff…and fellow residents in Stillwater. And for that I apologize.

In September, I over reacted and made a poor decision. While I was not involved in any inappropriate conduct publishing the names and addresses CRS members opposing a school levy proposal, I chose to plead to a lesser charge in hopes of making it go away. I did not seek any counsel, either from an attorney, staff, friends or family. That was a mistake. And I deeply regret it. Because of that, I have now retained counsel, and I am asking counsel to review this matter and to advise me on how to proceed.

For a moment, I want to put my state of mind in the context, on CRS834. For two weeks, leading up today , my family and I have been relentlessly and viciously harassed by KSTP Channel 5 News. If you saw Channel 5 today, you know why.

Let me be clear: I am not gay, I never have been gay. Still without a shred of truth or evidence to the contrary, Channel 5 has engaged in this witch hunt.

In pleading guilty to being the blogger known as the Stillwater Infidel, I over reacted, because of the stress the KSTP Channel 5 investigation caused and the rumors it has fueled all around Minnesota. Again, that over-reaction was a mistake and I apologize for my judgment.

Furthermore, I should have not kept this hatred of CRS834 members to myself. And I should have told my family and my friends about it. I wasn’t able to share this failure, but I should have anyway. Because I am not gay.

I love my wife, my family. I care about friends and staff and Minnesota. I love serving this great state. Over the years, I have accomplished a lot for Minnesota. And I hope Minnesotans will allow me to continue to do that.

There are still goals I would like to accomplish. And I believe I can still be an effective leader for our state.

Next month, I will announce, as planned as many of you have already been told, whether or not, I will seek re-election.

As an elected official, I fully realize that my life is open for public criticism and scrutiny and I take full responsibly for a lapse in judgment I made in attempting for handling this matter myself. It is clear though, through my action I have brought a cloud over Minnesota and for that I seek and ask the people of Minnesota to forgive me.

As I mentioned earlier, I have retained counsel to examine the matter. And from that I will make no further comment.

This statement will go up on my website today at coleman.senate.gov

Any additional comments will be on the website. I’m sure this is an issue that this is not yet over.FruitFly

And I will respond accordingly to all of you in the press. As I have always appreciated your willingness to accommodate me, I hope you appreciate my openness to all of you.

Thank you very much