They love him even when he blows his nose…

hankyColor me queer, but I got a giggle out of stories like this one:

DALLAS – It’s probably safe to say that you have arrived as a politician when your audience applauds when you blow your nose.

Yes, just a day before a debate in Texas, Sen. Barack Obama has a head cold.

And about a half-hour into a speech here, the Illinois Democrat announced that he had to take a quick break. “Gotta blow my nose here for a second,” Obama said.

Out came a Kleenex (or perhaps it was a hankie), and he wiped his nose.

The near-capacity audience at the Reunion Arena, which his campaign said totaled 17,000, broke out in a slightly awkward applause.

Despite the cold, Obama’s voice seems as strong as ever. He has a light schedule today and some time to rest up before his debate Thursday evening with Sen. Hillary Clinton of New York.

Fark titled the piece [AMUSING}:

Barack Obama pauses during campaign speech to blow his nose. Audience breaks out in applause. Now THAT’S impressive.

…And the first person to leave a COMMENT in the Fark piece drops of a link to this…

I got such a chuckle all day. This woman I know at the Puppy Park where I take the dog for his exercise is a Republican. She calls me to see if I’m going to take Otis to the park. When I answer the phone she says:

“What in the hell is with your guy Barack… That when he has to blow his nose – everybody applauds.”

I laughed and said: “What’s wrong with that? If there was a Republican that was seen as a rock star, you’d love it!”

She said; “I think it’s scary.”

I quickly said: “No. What’s scary is that creepy old man you guys have and finding how that crotchety old goat had an affair with a freaking lobbyist!!”

She’s laughing hysterically and I continued: “What’s really scary, is trying to figure out what he banged her with!! What did he use? His walker? A pair of crutches? Did he bang her with his IV tree?!”

She couldn’t stop laughing…So I told her I’d see her tomorrow at the Doggy Park.

FruitFly 6

Leave a Reply

