Boredom…

I’m downloading…

My blog engine (WordPress.org) allows me to download the original source code to the file server of my choice, provided I install a few pieces of support software. Since that software is free and open sourced, I’m downloading as I type and I’ve decided to give it a try.

I have my own file server, a half-dozen work stations littered around the place, and I’m tired of letting the WordPress folks nag me about file-space allotments and the cumbersome archiving of my persistent recycling of previously used graphics.

Oh wait… Excuse me for a second…

Umm — Look at this great photo for a second! I have to check on something.

weather_dick

The truth of the matter is simple: I can contain my blog locally on my own server and re-direct the Internet traffic directly to it with relative simplicity.

Currently, my blog address is “www.fruitfly.wordpress.com” and I’m uploading graphics and blog entries to someone else’s administration (back-up systems, viruses, spam, nuisance scripts, etc) .

Why?

I’ve already contacted GoDaddy and registered “thefruitfly.net” and paid for the domain name.

www.fruitfly.wordpress.com
vs
www.thefruitfly.net

The logic here is simple; I can export everything from the WordPress file servers directly to my own server as well as redirect the WordPress engine to my server for those who are accustomed to reading my blog on the former address with very little difficulty.

It’s late and Larry King has just announce that President-elect Barack Obama has offered Janet Napolitano (D-AZ) has his Cabinet Secretary for Homeland Security.

Now that’s been completed, I’ll have to configure the setup files on WordPress (locally) and then set that engine to run. Now I have to have GoDaddy point internet traffic looking for “www.thefruitfly.net” to me here at my server, and then migrate three years worth of FruitFly blogs, images and files to my server here locally.

…Piece of cake. <- sarcasm…SARCASM!!!

I wanted to run up to the family cabin this weekend to take a horribly overdue break from our lives last week. My husband partner wanted to postpone it until this coming weekend. Now he’s gone noddles and he doesn’t want to go this weekend either. Maybe I’ll stay home and work on this for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

